Harold and Yvette Arian founded The Ridge Street Country School, Inc. in 1957. Yvette’s training as a social worker and her affiliation with a community nursery school made her aware of the very positive impact a preschool experience could have on both the child and his/her family members. As a result, in 1957, she and Harold bought what was originally The Ridge Street Public School – and so The Ridge Street Country School was born.
Yvette remained the Director of the School and Summer Program for the first 25 years of operation. Harold handled many of the projects, details and planning while maintaining full-time employment at a social work agency elsewhere. The initial group of 18 children increased to four full classes, leading to the addition of two new classrooms in 1968. The six-classroom brick structure surrounded by one acre of playground and two swimming pools remains the heart of the facility.
RSCS has remained a family business through the years as the torch was passed to Harold and Yvette’s daughter, Barbara Schori. Barbara has worked at the RSCS since 1969 in many capacities before becoming Director in 1989. She remains Director today along with a truly gifted staff, many of which have remained for more than twenty years.